Managing Groups

Groups are on the second (middle) level of the three-tier system used to manage users and groups in edu-sharing.
Examples for groups in an educational setting could be a group for all teachers, for all students of a class or for all members of the administrational staff of a school.

Groups are the tool of choice to facilitate managing access rights for functionalities, folders or objects. In our example an administrator could create a "teachers" group and give the group acess to a folder instead of granting that right to every single teacher.
Or the admin could grant reading rights to all students of a class but only editing rights to the teachers and so on.

The system administrator and members of the organization administrator group can create any number of groups within an organisation.

For each organization the system will automatically create:

  • an organization group for all future members and groups of the organization
  • an organization administrators group (as a child of the organization group)

This article only deals with the management of groups. The article on user management will tell you how to assign users to your groups.

on this page:

 

Creating Groups


In order to create a group within an organization open the organizations tab of the permissions tool and select the desired organization. Now switch to the groups tab of your organization.

The name of the currently selected organization will be displayed in brackets on top of the groups tab.

 

opening the groups tab of an organization

On top of the right hand side you will find the button to create a new group.
Clicking the button will open a new interface asking you for a group name. Enter a name and use the "SAVE" button.

 

Editing Groups


System administrators and members of the organization administator group can change the name of groups.

To change the name of a group open the groups tab in the permissions tool. Open the context menu of the desired group and pick the "edit" option.

Deleting Groups


System administrators and members of the organization administator group can delete groups.

Deleting a group will only result in the removal of the group. No accounts of users which were a member of the group will be deleted.

Keep in mind, that users will lose the access rights to objects or folders they were granted by means of membership of this group.

 

To delete a group open the groups tab in the permissions tool. Open the context menu of the desired group and pick the "delete" option.